Trilogy E-Book 1 – Citizen Soldier



Citizen Soldier, the e-book, is Book 1 of  Wilber’s War (trilogy): An American Family’s Journey through World War II. It  opens with Wilber’s untimely death at war’s end. It then reaches back into the Midwest origins of Wilber and Norma, their establishment of a family, and the development of their careers during the Great Depression of the 1930s. It then follows Wilber through army training camps, shipment overseas, a shipboard torpedo plane attack, and bombing raids on the front lines. Norma, meanwhile, moves to New York City with her two children, to further her career ambitions.

The complete three e-book series chronicles the story of two ordinary Americans, Wilber and Norma Bradt, during an extraordinary time, World War II. It offers fresh insight—on a deeply personal level—into the historic conflict as it was fought by the U.S. Army in the Solomon Islands, New Guinea, and The Philippines and by a family on the home front. It is an epic tale of duty, heroism, love, infidelity, and the tragedy of suicide.

The work offers a detailed and nuanced view into the complexities faced by one family and by U.S. society as a whole when it ships soldiers off to war and asks loved ones to forge new lives on the home front.

Based on a rich trove of wartime letters, Wilber’s War (trilogy) has received the following accolades:
Silver Award: Foreword Reviews (War & Military),
Silver Award: IBPA Benjamin Franklin (Biography),
Finalist Award: National Indie Excellence (Military Non-fiction)

“informed and informative … thoughtful and thought-provoking…inherently fascinating read…deftly crafted…very highly recommended for both community and academic library … collections” [Midwest Book Review, June 2015]

This e-book is provided in both Mobi and E-Pub formats.

368 print pages, 2 charts, 7 maps, 81 illustrations.

You may also like…