Trilogy E-Book 3 – Victory & Homecoming



Victory and Homecoming, the e-book, is book 3 of Wilber’s War (trilogy): An American Family’s Journey through World War II. It follows Wilber into new combat in New Guinea just as Norma makes a bold move to readjust her life. The invasion of Luzon in the Philippine Islands follows. It is on the scale of the Normandy invasion but mounted from bases thousands of miles away. There, Wilber is in combat for six months and experiences numerous “special times,” three of which each merit him a Silver Star. After the Luzon combat, preparations for the invasion of Japan begin, a move guaranteed to be a bloodbath. The story concludes with Wilber’s voyage to Japan in the occupation force, his return home, his death, and its aftermath.

The complete three e-book series chronicles the story of two ordinary Americans, Wilber and Norma Bradt, during an extraordinary time, World War II. It offers fresh insight—on a deeply personal level—into the historic conflict as it was fought by the U.S. Army in the Solomon Islands, New Guinea, and The Philippines and by a family on the home front. It is an epic tale of duty, heroism, love, infidelity, and the tragedy of suicide.

The work offers a detailed and nuanced view into the complexities faced by one family and by U.S. society as a whole when it ships soldiers off to war and asks loved ones to forge new lives on the home front.

Based on a rich trove of wartime letters, Wilber’s War (trilogy) has received the following accolades:
Silver Award: Foreword Reviews (War & Military),
Silver Award: IBPA Benjamin Franklin (Biography),
Finalist Award: National Indie Excellence (Military Non-fiction)

“informed and informative … thoughtful and thought-provoking…inherently fascinating read…deftly crafted…very highly recommended for both community and academic library … collections” [Midwest Book Review, June 2015]

This e-book is provided in both Mobi and E-Pub formats.

360 pages (print version), 2 charts, 18 maps, 82 illustrations

You may also like…